ARPH PhD Award

The Association for Researchers in Psychology & Health (ARPH) annually sponsors an award for best PhD thesis. The purpose of this award is to encourage young researchers who have uniquely contributed to the field of psychology and health. The winner will receive a certificate and a prize of 500 euros.

General Conditions

  • Candidates must have obtained (or will obtain) their PhD degree in the calendar year 2015.
  • Candidates should be member of ARPH (or have applied to become member before the submission deadline).
  • Candidates will attend the ARPH conference 2016 in Maastricht. The winner of the award will give a presentation about the PhD thesis at the conference (on January 29, 2016).


Candidates must submit an electronic version of their PhD thesis before November 27th, 2015, as well as a short abstract (max. 250 words). The abstract should clearly convey the theoretical basis of the work, as well as the methods, the major results, a discussion of the main findings, and up to 3 keywords specifying the domain of the conducted research. Only PhD theses written in English are eligible. By their participation, the candidates accept the general conditions of the award.

The PhD Award Jury consists of one member of the ARPH board (Prof. dr. Andrea Evers, Leiden University) and three senior ARPH members (Dr. Lies De Ruddere, Ghent University; Dr. David Marchiori, Utrecht University; Dr. Martine Goedendorp, University Medical Centre Groningen). Submissions should be sent via email to the chair of the PhD Award Jury: Prof. dr. Andrea Evers (

The winning candidate will be notified by the jury before December 21rst.

Click here to register online!