Information about two awards: the ARPH Phd Award 2018 & the new ARPH Young Talent Award.

Poster Awards & Pitches

Two poster awards

A poster session will be organized during each of the 2 conference days. During these sessions, all posters will be rated by a poster-award committee, consisting of Dr. Paula Mommersteeg (Tilburg University), Dr. Catharine Evers (Utrecht University), Dr. Antoinette van Laarhoven (University of Leiden), and Dr. Harriët Abrahams (Amsterdam UMC).

The two top-rated posters will receive the ‘ARPH Poster Award (one award for each day).

Eight poster pitches
Apart from the poster awards, the authors of the eight top-rated poster abstracts will be invited to provide a poster pitch during the poster sessions at the conference. The selected candidates for the pitches will be notified at the beginning of January.

ARPH PhD Award 2018

The Association for Researchers in Psychology & Health (ARPH) annually sponsors an award for best PhD thesis. The purpose of this award is to encourage young researchers who have uniquely contributed to the field of psychology and health. The winner will receive a certificate and a prize of 500 euros.

General conditions

  • Candidates must have obtained (or will obtain) their PhD degree in the calendar year 2018.
  • Candidates should be member of ARPH (or have applied to become member before the submission deadline).
  • The winner of the award will attend the ARPH conference 2019 in Egmond aan Zee and will give a presentation about the PhD thesis at the conference (on January 25, 2019).


Candidates must submit an electronic version of their PhD thesis before November 1st, 2018. Only PhD theses written in English are eligible. By their participation, the candidates accept the general conditions of the award.

The PhD Award Jury consists of 1 member of the ARPH board (dr. Christina Bode, University of Twente) and 5 senior ARPH members (Dr. Marieke Adriaanse, Utrecht University; Dr. Antoinette van Laarhoven, Leiden University; Dr. Sanne Boesveldt, Wageningen University; Dr. Annick De Paepe, Ghent University; and Dr. Ivan Nyklicek, Tilburg University).

Submissions should be sent via email to the chair of the PhD Award Jury:  Dr. Christina Bode (  The winning candidate will be notified by the jury before December 20, 2018.

ARPH Young Talent Award

The ARPH Young Talent Award is an award for talented early-career researchers which will be awarded for the first time at the upcoming ARPH conference in Egmond aan Zee, 24-25 January 2019. The award is meant for researchers at the beginning of their research career. Applicants must have obtained their doctorate within the last five years. This deadline can be extended with 6 months maximum if the candidate has taken parental, maternity or care leave within the relevant period. Nominations can be sent by a senior researcher (Professor or Associate Professor) and with the candidates’ agreement. Nominators and the candidate should be members of ARPH (or have applied to become member before the submission deadline).

The deadline for nominations is November 15thThe nomination should consist of:

  • A letter of recommendation signed by the nominator and a second senior researcher from another institute, which describes the accomplishments of the candidate and makes clear why this nominee is particularly promising and talented in the field of psychology and health, taking into account the following criteria: quality of publications; innovativeness of the research; scientific impact; societal impact; and relevance for the aims of ARPH: to stimulate and coordinate the academic study and application of psychological approaches to health and illness within Belgiumand/or The Netherlands.
  • An updated CV of the nominee, including a list of three key publications.

The jury for the award consists of three senior members of ARPH and is chaired by prof. dr Andrea Evers. Members of the Jury are not allowed to propose a candidate.

The ARPH Young Talent Award winner will receive 250 €  prize money

Nominations should be sent before November 15th to prof. dr. Andrea Evers using the following address

The winning candidate will be notified by the jury before December 21st.